
….And Luis spotted an article that read: “One Big, Happy Family.” Softly he said, “Well – that’s one thing we’re not!” The color drained from my face as I felt a sense of failure creep in. I had visions of going into counseling with him, and redesigning my life and my career to address this situation. I hugged him and whispered, “My darling, what made you say that?” “Mom!” he gleefully replied, “I meant – we’re one SMALL happy family!!” I have no roses. But I have garlands of sweetness.

Sigh...what's a blog without pictures? So, until I can save for a brand new cam, I will not be updating as regularly as the past two years. I rely now on photos sent to me by friends of course -- like these, from our Massimo Dutti event held two weeks ago. (Click on this link for Larry's account of that chica eve. ahem, with special mention of yours truly of course.) That's me with Allyana - daughter of friends Liezl and Albert. And below with Carla of M magazine, balikbayan Rosalie and my best friend Ginny.
This evening is probably going to be the last of its kind. I must prepare for Valentine's Day 2010 onwards when I will be by myself and my kids realize it's much more exciting to have a non-relative as your 'Valentine'. Ever since I became a mother some 22 years ago, I have always been my children's valentine date. They've given me home-made hearts and cards and little tokens, and we've spent countless Valentine evenings just ordering in -- mostly PIZZA by tradition, and watching TV. On certain years we've had a male adult guest of mine over (a.k.a. suitor, beau, manliligaw, MU), partaking of the Valentine pizza with my children. (We've always been a packaged deal, you know.) Last year was the last time the three of us were complete - plus one guest, John the Aussie. There was another year we had Mon the Tisoy. This year - tonight - there were just two of us -- me and my 18-year old son Luis, as Nikki, 21, finally had her own Valentine gimmick. And no male adult guest this year, I guess the 'packaged deal' was just too much, huh. Luis and I started the evening off by eating choriburger in Metro Walk, then, after buying 4 DVDs, we settled down infront of the TV and watched Slum Dog Millionaire. We will probably have to watch one or two more movies to keep us awake till 2am, when we can go pick up Nikki at the Fort.